Posted by: stacystyle | November 28, 2011

Better Homes & Gardens Christmas Style

There’s something so special about being asked to style someone’s house for Christmas. It is a delicate balance of bringing enough ideas to make an interesting and idea-filled story for readers and respecting the homeowners’ traditions and tastes.

I was so lucky to be asked to style this Christmas story for the December issue of Better Homes & Gardens.

In the magazine it received an amazing seven pages! (All of which you can see in your own issue or on newsstands!)

































I focused on simple greenery, including these beautiful wreaths I found at Berry’s Greenhouses in Boston.

I picked up the little gunny sacks at The Container Store and used raw antique linen from Red Chair on Warren behind the cardboard wreaths from Michael’s Craft Store.

None of this would have been possible though without the enthusiasm, help, and cooperation of the beautiful Ross family and my amazing photographer John Bessler. A special thanks to you all for making it such an enjoyable Christmas shoot in the middle of May! (That’s right, we shot this in May, not December!)


Responses

  1. Wow! That’s exciting, I am subscribed and enjoyed your styling. Congratulations on your success.

    • Thanks so much, Maddie! I really appreciate it! sk

  2. Fantastic! Can’t wait to read it in detail when I get my issue! Congrats!

  3. Congrats, Stacey! Looks fabulous- Now I have to run out and grab a copy! Thanks for sharing!
    Tyra (@SuperStrata)

    • Thanks! Nice to meet you! Just followed you on Twitter!

  4. awesome Stacy! Congrats!

    • Thanks, Nicole! Hope you’re well!

  5. Just picked up a copy today and was happy to see Larry and Nancy in this issue, I love their home! You done good girl!

    • Thanks so much, Deb!

  6. Hi Stacy! I’ll have to pick up a copy and have a closer look. Looks fabulous! I completely agree about styling someone’s home while maintaining their style and integrity of the home. This looks so beautiful and I love the attention to detail. I just finished decorating and styling a home for Christmas that will be in a Canadian magazine next year! We did the photo shoot today. I had such a great time with it and the family was also amazing. Take care 🙂 xo

    • Nyla, Congratulations! I can’t wait to see what you did for the shoot. I’m sure it’s gorgeous!

  7. very nice!! I helped style a photo shoot for BH& G a few years ago…a garden one… in late JANUARY!! We were given the theme and asked to execute it… and really had fun …

    • oops. I meant CHRISTMAS in the garden…. 11 months ahead

    • How cool, Barbara!

  8. […] 3. I was thrilled to see the Christmas shoot I styled for Better Homes & Gardens finally in print. Here’s what you don’t know though—I styled this shoot last MAY! I can’t tell you how many weird reactions I got when I started calling around for Christmas trees and ornaments! For more on this story, see my post from earlier this week by clicking here. […]

  9. I loved this photo shoot so much I ripped it out and saved it; as inspiration for my new home this coming Christmas.


Leave a comment

Categories