Posted by: stacystyle | January 17, 2012

Travel Tuesday—Hob Knob, Martha’s Vineyard, Eco-Chic Boutique

As a Kansas girl, I always dream about the ability to click my little red shoes and be transported to my favorite places. Right after my girlhood home, Martha’s Vineyard would be second on that list with a little twitch of the ankle taking me right to the Hob Nob in Edgartown.

For me, it’s the sheets, the breakfasts, the little crackling fire in the sitting room fireplace, the white linen covered tables in the breakfast room, the giant fluffy beds and the relaxed atmosphere of the place. It feels like home—that is if you live in a beautifully decorated boutique hotel on Martha’s Vineyard a block-long walk from the best restaurants and a short bike ride to a number of great beaches.
(As with all of my Travel Tuesday posts these are all photos I have taken unless stated otherwise.)

I first started staying here a few years ago during photo shoots for New England Home magazine. It had been suggested to me by Boston-based photographer Greg Premru. Sure it’s easy (located in town and you can walk everywhere) and luxurious (awesome sauna for guests with no appointment or fuss needed or you can schedule a massage), but the inn also has a commitment to the environment and to local farms. When owner Maggie White redid the hotel two years ago she used all low-VOC paints and eco-friendly fabrics and carpeting. The kitchen has a composting and program, the entire inn recycles, and they keep things sparkling with non-toxic cleaning products.

This is the lobby with a wire sculpture by island artist Steve Lohman.

Here’s one of the rooms where I’ve stayed. Oh, the cozy fluffdom.

But back to breakfast. There are two small dining rooms (I don’t typically want to sit too close to anyone but a New York Times before I’ve had my first cup of tea), a huge buffet of fresh fruits and juices, yogurts and the best homemade scones you’ll ever taste. Help yourself to those and then graze the menu to choose from poached eggs or omelets (local of course), pancakes, local sausage or the I-don’t-care-if-I-can’t-get-into-a-swimsuit-later French toast that’s been soaked in dark rum and sprinkled with cinnamon and nutmeg. Worth every bite. After that, it’s probably a good idea to rent one of the inn’s bikes to take to the miles of paved trails around the island.

I also love that at the end of the day, after you’ve shopped, beached, ate, and drank yourself silly that there’s a little port and a few glasses in the hallway outside your room. The perfect nightcap!

I’m always looking for a reason to go back to this gem of a hotel. I realized I hadn’t been out on the Hob Nob’s 27-foot Boston Whaler for a little harbor tour and fishing. I’m booking my reservation now for summer!

Responses

  1. Yeah, I’m missing the Vineyard right now! We’ve stayed there a bunch of times and there is no place like it in the world. You’ve captured the essence of the style and feeling of the place beautifully. Can I just put a bed in that lobby and live there please??

    • Susan,
      I love that you’ve been there and stayed there! Isn’t it just the easiest casual elegance? Hope you are well! Thanks so much for the comment!

      • I have not stayed there, but have stayed on the Vineyard, mostly renting homes in Chilmark but of course, traveling around the island. I love the beaches near Edgartown, where we also rented a home not too long ago and were then able to ride our bikes into town-perfect!

  2. Years back, we would go to the Vineyard in the spring and fall every year. It was always a wonderful time and we’re hoping to get back to that routine in the future.

    • Fall seems to be my favorite time there, Todd. Especially mid-September. Empty beaches, great weather, magical light.

  3. oh the HobKnob…I had my first weekend away with a man I adored there years ago…loved everything about it…

  4. Sally and I haven’t been to the Vineyard in some time. Never stayed in an in town location. Your description so reminds me of the Ballastone Inn in Savannah that I know it would be a perfect place to stay.

    If you really, really, really want to get away – try Cuttyhunk some time…

    Cheers,
    John

  5. We’re heading there this summer for a wedding and now I know where to stay! Thanks so much!!

  6. Ohh you make me want to hop the ferry and go out there right now! This place looks divine, thanks for sharing!

  7. Mister man and I have been there once and now wondering why we haven’t gone back? Time for another visit!

    XX
    Debra~

  8. Stacy – You need to come and stay in one our newly refurbished rooms this year – we haven’t seen you since before the renovation – I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised! AND we’re adding a kitchen this year for fresh breakfast offerings! Stop by on your next trip, I’d love to catch up!
    Joanne
    x

    • Would love to, Joanne!


Leave a Reply

Categories

