Posted by: stacystyle | December 20, 2011

Travel Tuesday—Hammerpress in Kansas City, MO

It doesn’t get hipper than Hammerpress. Even from it’s storefront it oozes cool appeal so much so that I was feeling a little intimidated on my first visit there. This is after all one of the legends of letterpress and one that I had read about in magazines and on other blogs for years, but to actually and not virtually go there?

The welcome could not have been warmer, the art couldn’t have been cooler. I think I spent an hour there pouring over every piece and choosing special ones for myself. At the end of this post you can see what I chose.

As I browsed bins of letterpress art and cards I could hear the old press itself clacking in the background. The smell of fresh ink and gear oil made it clear—these pieces are handmade, made here.








Here are some photos from the store.









The day I was there I got to meet founder/owner/creator Brady Vest, such a nice guy with a great design sense and vision.



Here are some of the pieces I took home.








If you can’t get to Kansas City, check out the Hammerpress blog, especially Brady’s recent wedding and letterpress invitations, which of course looks cooler than you could possibly imagine.

Responses

  1. These are wonderful Stacy. You probably don’t know this but almost twenty years ago there was a small place like this in Harrisville in one of the small buildings in the middle of town. They closed shortly after we moved here which was a shame. I hope you enjoy Christmas with your family!

    Hugs!
    Debra

  2. Definately not many places left like that! Great stuff!

    Cheers,
    John

  3. What a wonderful experience to share with us. That tour looks so intriguing. I would love to see a letterpress doing its thing! Love the No Whining choice to take home. Fun.

  4. I am jealous. But I am happy for you, too.

  5. Thank you for the introduction, Stacy! I love the work you’ve shown and will definitely check out the blog.

  6. Love it! Thanks for the great blog post and photos!


Leave a Reply

Categories

