Posted by: stacystyle | December 6, 2011

Travel Tuesday—Hotel Royal Riviera, Cap Ferrat

I take no credit in choosing this hotel. All the props go to my boyfriend, Dunes, who chose this amazing location for my birthday last month. I actually don’t even want to tell you about it it was so good, but I am.

There’s a direct flight from JFK to Nice, France, every day on Delta. An 8:30 a.m. landing guarantees you’ll be at the hotel in time for breakfast even if you loll about stopping to take photos along the fabulously picturesque two-lane route that skirts the Mediterranean between the Nice airport and Cap Ferrat as we did.









The hotel had recently been redone. The look is sort of Palm Beach-meets-Rivera in the best way possible. Think fresh colors and fabrics with a retro-furnishings feel.



Walking out onto the balcony, however, took my breath away. The view of the pool and the Mediterranean is epic.

In all my travels I can’t remember a better view from a hotel room. Every day we were there the blues of the pool and the sea sparkled from sun up to sun down.

Of an evening we sipped kir royals in the lobby bar.

The hotel staff was helpful, friendly (perfect English all around when necessary), and directed us to an amazing special occasion dinner in the nearby town of Eze once night and a local hangout by the water a 15 minute walk away the next. The hotel has a full-service spa where I had a massage, but I have to admit it was hard to drag myself away from the pool. Even though it was mid-October, we swam in the Mediterranean two of the three days we were there. In warmer months the hotel has full beach service.

Breakfast is expensive, but glorious with fresh breads, fig spread, wonderful juices, eggs, yogurts, whatever your heart desires. We booked the hotel through American Express with our platinum card and the breakfasts and massage were included, saving us more than $400 (breakfast was around $50/person!).

Breakfast terrace

Hotel Royal Rivera was absolutely one of the most beautiful and relaxing stays I’ve had in France. I can’t wait to go back!

Responses

  1. I’ve taken that very Delta flight – it’s a well kept secret!! And count me jealous!! How very fabulous!!

  2. I felt like I took a mini vacation just reading your story and looking at the pictures. Perfect on this soggy Tuesday morning!

    Cheers,
    John

  3. Good to know about the Delta flight since I thought nothing was direct anymore. Looks like it was a fabulous birthday and Happy Belated Birthday Stacy!

  4. Happy Birthday! Sounds like it was dreamy!

  5. What a fabulous birthday trip…love following along!!

  6. This looks like a fairytale birthday trip. Putting this in the file labeled, “hints for my husband!”

    xoxo Elizabeth


Leave a Reply

Categories

