Posted by: stacystyle | April 5, 2011

Mad for Malachite

In college a friend from Tanzania gave me a choker strand of malachite beads as a Christmas gift. At the time, I didn’t think they were all that pretty. Cold and marbled green, they were much more exotic than my gold chain and fake pearls.

While I was in Los Angeles for the Design Bloggers Conference it was an invitation by Ronda Carman, the brand ambassador for Sferra and of All the Best Blog to Dawnridge, the famed former home of Tony Duquette, that has taught me to appreciate malachite in all its glory.

Dawnridge, now the home of the grandmaster of all things fabulous, Hutton Wilkinson (who is also the author of both books on Tony Duquette), gave us the grand tour of the house and gardens perched on the Beverly Hills hillside.

After an amazing lunch hosted by Ronda, Hutton and Sferra Linens, we retreated to the garden for dessert. Did I mention that my dining partners were none other than Jan Showers, Barclay Butera, Clint Smith and Scot Meacham Wood to name a few? I was in heaven.



But back to this new malachite obsession. As I wandered through the rooms that day, I got a much better look at the malachite rug in one of the rooms facing the garden.

As well as the malachite console, fabrics and wall details.

A few nights later at the invitation of Bethanne Matari of Currey & Co. I found myself at the home of designer Marjorie Skouras. I walked into her all-too-fabulous pink living room with her famous turquoise chandelier and lo-and-behold, there was a malachite rug to match her malachite-patterned pants!

I’m wearing the malachite beads now. I wonder how that malachite rug would look on the East Coast? Luckily, Roubini is reproducing it.

Responses

  1. Sure looks like you had a glorious time in LA! I’m always torn between malachite and lapis lazuli. They’re both so beautiful and special!

  2. I think the rug could be fabulous anywhere with the proper styling – and of course we all know you are the expert in that category!!. That lunch is going to go down in the annals of design get togethers as a classic!!

  3. I think the malachite rug is fabulous but not crazy abbout it on furniture, sort of jumps out at you. Beads would be fabulous during the summer! That lunch sounds and looks like fun and wish I could have been part of it.

  4. Love malachite! And I think the rug would look amazing on any coast! Welcome home- looks like the conference was a success!

  5. I was recently perusing Tony Duquette’s More is More….and loving the malachite! It just seems so “right” for now. Obviously, Tony was WAY ahead of the rest of us, but how fun that you can pull out that necklace now with even more appreciation.

    Always love seeing pics of you with my design idol, Jan Showers!
    xo Elizabeth

    • Thanks so much, Elizabeth! You need to meet Jan. She would adore YOU! xosk

  6. Stacy,

    Ahhhh . . . it all brings back such amazing memories of that glorious afternoon. And I’m SO glad we had a chance to finally meet you in person!

    Cheers,
    Scot

    • Can’t wait to see you again! Hopefully soon, Scot! xosk

  7. Love that vibrant green! Just beautiful! Great post, Stacy! Makes me ready for the next Design Bloggers Conference!! XO!

    • Kelley, Thanks so much for stopping by! Hope to see you again soon! xosk

  8. Wonderful post, Stacy! Just received my copy of Tony Duquette I ordered from One Kings Lane… beautiful! Thanks for sharing and looking forward to DBC2012!
    xoxo

    • His work is amazing! A true artist. Looking forward to DBC2012! sk

  9. Green with envy! Or should I say Malachite with envy…
    xo Cathy

  10. […] reading Stacy Kunstel’s blog post about malachite, I seemed to see it everywhere.  A trend or just a heightened awareness?  Probably […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

