Posted by: stacystyle | February 3, 2012

5+ Best Things—NYIGF Roundup

I spent the past week in the city for the New York International Gift Fair, showing my lighting and homes accessories line, Dunes and Duchess. Our booth was located on Pier 94 in the At Home section, filled with beautiful items. I managed to get out and about a few times and collected a number of things I just loved. Here are 5 with more to follow tomorrow.

1. Dransfield and Ross, known for their sophisticated tableware and beautiful pillows, has just entered the realm of bedding putting together a yummy collection of duvets and sheets with coordinating pillows.

2. I really believe in American manufacturing and independently owned businesses and Moss Studios is a check in both categories. This week I got to know its founder Breck Armstrong, who makes lamps and mirrors in his Michigan barn. Industrial is still hot (Anthropologie placed an order for his work), but I was really taken with the riff he played on old spools and kitchen utensils. How beautiful is the ribbon coming off this spool lamp or the rolling pin lamp to its right?

3. Lance Wovens exploded onto the scene just last August scooping up orders from Bergdorfs and top designers. Who could possibly resist their woven leather pillows or bags? They are simply perfection in every way from the colors to the quality. They are a huge addition to NYIGF, raising the bar for all of us.

4. Natural Curiosities has long been a favorite of mine and they did not disappoint this show. I particularly love (maybe because we are so close to Valentine’s Day) the sentiment of this enormous heart-shaped frame filled with the pages of old books rolled into rosebuds. Simply romantic.

5. My friends at Diane James Home put together collections each season much like a fashion designer does. I would call their new pieces a combination of resort and summer for their colorful designs. Oh, and the pieces are Connecticut-made to boot!

5+. Speaking of fashion, Michelle Hatch—industry insider and former head accessories designer to Donna Karan—has launched a line of her own pairing the most beautiful colors and fabrics and then accessorizing them with Swarovski crystals, tiny nailhead trim and luscious embroidery to make the ultimate in pillows. For this collection she also incorporated vintage trim and ribbon.

Here’s a sneak peek of the vintage Liberty of London prints she’s featuring for summer. All made in NYC, Baby!

Check out the blog tomorrow for more favorites from the show!


Responses

  1. 6. Having wonderful friends like you who spread divine design across the world… and make us smile every day at the show! Hope you can put your feet up a bit this weekend, Stacy.
    xxoo

  2. Beautiful finds!! I love the heart! Makes me wonder if I should exhibit my rugs at the show. Hope you had wonderful success! xo

    • We had a killer show, Susan. I would love to see your rugs btw!

  3. I adore anything with a Greek Key motif (I’m a classicist at heart) and these pillows hit the spot. Also, the lamps–clever, cute and eco-friendly to boot!

  4. Great finds! I love the pillows. I’m always on the hunt for new good pillows. Thanks for sharing!

    • You’re so welcome, Lindsay!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 16,209 other followers

