Posted by: stacystyle | December 12, 2011

Monday Mantra—Gift Giving

“I will honor Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year.”
Charles Dickens



Gift giving for the holidays isn’t just about the gift, it’s about thinking about the people you love and wanting to give them something that will be special and memorable to them. It’s a tall order, especially when we are time-pressed, cash-strapped and overwhelmed by many things in our lives. I’ve found that sometimes the way I wrap a gift or the personal note I write in a card means more to someone over the long term than actually what is inside. So does giving a gift with a hug and words of love. I hope that in my gift giving this year and throughout the year that I will be more connected on a personal level to the important people in my life and I hope the same for you.


Responses

  1. This is one of the more beautiful posts I’ve read in blogland…well said and so true. Happy holidays to you and Michael. You are both an asset to the world of design. Much love.

  2. Totally agree!! Trying to do the same. Wishing you and Michael that happiest of holidays. Look forward to seeing you soon. xoxo S

  3. Beautiful. Thank You.

  4. Thanks for the reminder–this is what it’s all about! Have a wonderful Christmas.

  5. I think you hit the nail on the head when you spoke of the message being more important than the gift. When I look across the room at Sally I know I don’t need anything more.

    Happy Monday!

    Cheers,
    John

  6. Very nice post, Stacy. Friends and family and I have decided to do without gifts this year in exchange for spending more time together. Baking, small dinners at home, spending time together creating new memories are all things on our Christmas lists this year.

  7. I totally agree with you Stacy, beautiful thought!

  8. Really wonderful thoughts Stacy!!

    Please come and enter My 12 Days of Holiday Giveaways! You will love the unique gifts!

    Xoxo
    Karena

    Art by Karena


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 16,205 other followers

