Posted by: stacystyle | May 17, 2011

First day of BlogFest2011

There are things I’m good at and things I should probably work on. One of my work on projects should be to take more photos of the amazing events I get to attend. I should be showing you the soaring architecture of the new Hearst Tower (what an amazing place to work that would be), me chatting with editors Newell Turner and Dara Caponigro, or even all the incredible bloggers I’ve met in real life after following them for years (too many to list). But here’s what I do have to share after our first day of Blogfest2011.

Editors from the Hearst design magazines were out in full force talking about their brands. Left to right are Town and Country Editor-at-Large Mark Rozzo, House Beautiful Editor-in-Chief Newell Turner, Veranda Editor-in-Chief Dara Caponigro, and Kravet VP of Marketing Beth Greene.

Then Dara Caponigro brought members of the Veranda team to the stage including Kate Bolick, Catherine Lee Davis, Carolyn Englefeld, Mario Lopez Cordero and Eugenia Sebastian Soto.

Newell introduced editors Doretta Sperduto, Jeffrey Bauman, Sabine Rothman, Jen DeRose and Creative Director Scot Schy.

At the Elle Decor Showhouse (aka Modern Life Concept House) yesterday afternoon there were simply too many people to take good room shots, but I have to say the two things with which I was most taken were wall decor details. In the living room San Francisco-base interior designer Beth Martin did the the most simple yet brilliant thing that I am going to repeat in houses for the rest of my life. She painted the frame holding the ink on paper artwork by Christina McPhee the same color as the walls.

I also loved the wall and ceiling treatment in Sara Story’s room. The Venetian plaster ceiling gave off the most gorgeous glow and the painting was divine.

It was great to catch up with friends as well, including CreateGirl, Julianne Covino.

At the DesignTV party hosted by Amy Dragoo, Jonathan Legate, and Joss and Main I caught up with Better Homes & Gardens East Coast Editor Kristine Kennedy and the amazing Elaine Griffin!

Responses

  1. How wonderful!! I was hoping to attend but wasn’t able to get a ticket. Thanks to you I can see what it’s like. And I absolutely love the idea of painting the frame the same color as the wall- genius!

  2. Stacy! I am so happy to read a blog post about BlogFest! So so bummed I was on the wait list. Thank you for this — and the GORGEOUS pics. You know I almost swooned at the Venetian Plaster & handpainting. And as usual, love all the blogger images. Thank you!

  3. Stacy thanks for the day one recap. Sounds like my kind of fun. Really love your photos and details of the Elle Decor Show house. We are doing some decorative paint finishes in the Southern Living Showcase house in Nashville and I am looking for ideas. These are great inspiration. Have a great time!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 16,209 other followers

