Posted by: stacystyle | July 7, 2010

4th of July celebration (and a funny secret!)

I wanted to share with you some images from my 4th of July photo shoot that appears in the July issue of Better Homes & Gardens. The crazy thing that’s never mentioned in the article is that photographer John Bessler and I produced and shot this article on Cape Cod the last week of JANUARY. January on Cape Cod! Can you believe it? We were really lucky that it didn’t snow that day and that we had the world’s best homeowners. Some of the things we did do though, included jacking up the heat in the house to keep the kids warm, using the garden hose to melt remaining snow around the house, spraying the kid’s hair with water so they looked just-from-the-pool wet, and bringing in a ton of planted and fresh cut hydrangea to give that summer-on-the-Cape feeling.

Responses

  1. Well done! Had you not told us, I would have thought these were shot over this past weekend!

    xxABCD

    • Thanks, Amy! I’m dreaming of cold today!

  2. that is hilarious! You are an incredible image maker ..looking forward to seeing you soon –

    Buffi

  3. It looks SO believable! One summer in college I assisted the stylist on the crate and barrel holiday catalog shoot and I can remember making wreaths and gingerbread houses in July. Gotta love what goes on behind the camera :)
    Love what you did with the decorations!
    Best,
    Amy Meier

  4. and out of season strawberries, too!

  5. Cute article Stacy- How many times have we all shot Christmas shoots in June?

    • I’m so happy to say I’ve never had to shoot Christmas in June, but one of my good friends is having Christmas at her house at the end of July! They’re shipping in a Christmas tree from Oregon to her Savannah home. I think Christmas in July might just send me over the edge!

  6. I am so jealous of you! I think you have an awesome job and talent. I make copies and file them, you get to do this all day. Take me with you…please!

    • You are so sweet! Okay, if you really feel like tagging along, my week this week is this: Monday-Drive two hours to Boston, return props, sit in a four hour meeting, drive three hours to Connecticut. Tuesday-write all day. Wednesday-up at 5:30 a.m., drive Boston, go to flower market, prop for photo shoot, drive to northern New Hampshire. Thursday-photo shoot all day with new photographer, drive to Rhode Island. Friday-shoot all day, drive to New Hampshire. My back hurts just thinking about it! Then you work all weekend too! But most of the time it’s fun.

  7. So funny! I always wonder how they do the shoots so far in advance. Great photos!

    • Hi Katie! Thanks for stopping by! FYI, a lot of times we shoot things a year in advance!

  8. January?! That is crazy…these had me completely fooled…and they are all gorgeous!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 14,687 other followers

