Posted by: stacystyle | May 7, 2010

Heir—Where Style is Apparent

Tooling around Westport, Mass., and Little Compton, Rhode Island last week I found myself with a little time on my hands after scouting houses. Sure, I could have just headed to my little hamlet in New Hampshire to start the weekend early, but what I really wanted to do was to check out Heir’s new digs on 231 Westmister Street in Providence. I had been a big fan of the Heir website (including the cool music selections), but had never had the opportunity to visit the original location on Eddy Street.

As luck would have it, owner Tyler Doran was behind the counter when I arrived. After I had a chance to fawn over some of the gorgeous mid-century modern furniture mixed with industrial, quirky, and beautiful antiques I introduced myself and explained what a fan I’ve been.

I like the style of Heir because it isn’t chategorizable (a word just coined to describe him). Taxidermied ducks, old rusted signs, sleek chairs, local jewelry, ornate architectural forms—it all lives together beautifully, like in an old Sussex country house with rambling stone walls and ramshackle barns where a modern art collector would live on weekends with his spaniels and model girlfriend. The elegance of it is that it simply doesn’t try to hard.

If you can’t make a visit to Providence, you can soak up the vibe at www.heirantiques.com or www.heirantiques.1stdibs.com.

Responses

  1. such a well-organized antique store!

  2. Love the giant anatomy print…although, if I got up to use the restroom in the middle of the night it might frighten me. :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 16,206 other followers

