Posted by: stacystyle | February 22, 2010

This is what $130 of antiques looks like.

I had just about two hours of beautiful New Hampshire antiquing today. Finds included an old team photo that I will give to a friend, a couple of large blue glass bottles that will be used on a Country Living photo shoot, a carved wooden cup that for $2 was too cute to pass up even with a crack, an overpriced ironstone pitcher (once you have at least a dozen like I do you still want more), a couple of vintage vases (you can never have too many), and finally a seeded glass blue vase that I am sure will come in handy on my Better Homes & Gardens shoot this week. Oh, there was also an old wire rug beater that I picked up because of that photo posted on abcddesigns.com about “Crushing on Country Collectibles.” (http://www.abcddesign.com/archives/2010/02/03/abcd-crushing-on-country-collections).

Responses

  1. i went antiquing this weekend and my friend eyed a copy of the out-of-print book, jansen decoration, in a dusty stack of books. i’ve never seen it for less than $600. it was still $125, so the dealer knew he had something on his hands. i wish i had spotted it sooner because all the copies i researched online this morning are still over $500.

    • If I know I’m going to regret not buying it, if I know I’m going to think about it while I lie in bed that night, I always buy it!

  2. love LOVE LOVE the carved wooden cup! Great finds!

  3. You have such a fun job and a great eye for design!

    I actually mentioned *you* on my blog today. I posted an artist friends “inspiration board” and then wanted to share your insiders view on that very topic! Keep ‘em coming : )

    http://designvignettes.blogspot.com/2010/02/back-to-school.html

  4. Great idea for a blog post – I was just at the Paris flea market yesterday morning with a client – adealer from the States and by noon she’d spent 110E (or approx $140) and she’d bought:

    7 decorative brass picture framing hooks (in shapes of bee, fleur de lys, cupid, lions, 2 varieties of flowers, and a hand.
    1 Absenthe spoon
    2 18th C brass candlesticks w/snuf
    12 silver (marked by manufacture) Art Dec Gateaux forks in original case
    1 silver napkin ring in original box
    5 canisters for sel, poivre, girofle, muscde and laurier

    Not bad for 2 hours one morning in Paris!
    Toma

    • What a great haul! Would love to see shots of that trip!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 16,206 other followers

