Posted by: stacystyle | February 7, 2010

Quite the surprise chandelier

In my job as a scout/stylist/editor/writer for national magazines and as the Homes Editor for New England Home, I get to see a lot of houses. All types. All sizes. All styles. It’s the best part of my job. I absolutely love it when something takes me by surprise as it did last week when I was touring a house in Darien, Connecticut, and the homeowner told me about this chandelier. As you can see, it appears to be a wrought iron piece with hanging crystals. But this was one of those situations when looks can be deceiving. It was a plastic IKEA chandelier that retails for about $60. Let me know what you think and if you can tell.

Responses

  1. Stacy,

    I just received an email that you are following us on Twitter. I like your blog quite a bit. Check out our blog at http://www.yaleappliance.com..perhaps we can collaborate if you see fit

    thank you for the add,

    Steve Sheinkopf
    CEO
    Yale Appliance and Lighting

    • Hi Steve,
      I love that you’re so interactive with your customers on your blog. Very cool. We should brainstorm.

  2. Stacy! I, of course, LOVE it. I did a bit of research and the website says the parts are made of the following:
    arm/ ceiling cup/ chain/ cover cap are steel, pigmented powder coating
    joint, lower is zinc, pigmented powder coating
    joint, upper is aluminium, pigmented powder coating
    shade/ beads/ prism are glass
    No plastic! :)
    It looks like it’s no longer available in the US. I did find it available on the IKEA UK web site:
    http://www.ikea.com/gb/en/catalog/products/40089477
    Thanks for stopping by!

    • Thanks for the info, Julie!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 14,683 other followers

